Wow, that was some storm

I spent the long weekend in Margaret River and got up each morning before sunrise to see what images I could get.

Saturday was average but on Sunday I went to Redgate beach. At 6:30am it looked ordinary but as the morning went on a storm approached. 

I stood out on the rocks off the Redgate observation area and waited for the storm to come. As it headed towards me I started getting worried as it had rained (thank goodness for the shower cap trick to keep my camera dry) and the thunder and lightning started. I felt like a lightning receptor!

This panorama is 5 stitched images about 20 mins before the storm hit Redgate.

Approaching Storm - Redgate Beach

Approaching Storm - Redgate Beach

 

 

 

 

 

As the storm approached I packed up and got into my car just as the biggest downpoor I have been in for some time hit. The lighting and thunder was fearsome and the drive back to MR was slow.

I will post more of the storm next time.
~ by Rob Lewis on March 2, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
