We’re nearly there

Well yesterday I managed to post an image and tag it. I also subscribed to a few other blogs, so I think I know most of the basics but I think the advanced stuff will take a while to come to grips with.

Yesterday’s picture is one that I have been working on for a while but I have a couple of issues with it.

The first is that the sunlit headland which is my point of interest, is bang smack in the middle of the horizontal frame with the horizon dividing the image in half. The second issue is that I have over-processed and lost the brilliant colour of the sun hitting the headland.

The problem with the first issue is where to crop. I thought that the sky added some drama and punch to the scene but I really liked the texture and leading lines of the beach.

I think I got into this mess because I was photographing off of a tripod about a foot off the ground on a wet beach so I was having trouble bending down and framing the scene. In hindsight I should have used Liveview on my new 5D MkII but it was new and I hadn’t learned how to use it yet.

Nick Melidonis, a successful Perth professional landscape photographer, suggested that I crop off the beach like this:

As cropped by Nick Melidonis

As cropped by Nick Melidonis

While I liked that, it lost the beach so I tried cropping some of the sky out like this:

Gracetown with Sky Crop

Gracetown with Sky Crop

I think I like mine better but I regret losing the sky!

If there’e anyone out there, let me know what you think

As for the clolour issue – I will post a correction for that tomorrow

~ by Rob Lewis on January 29, 2009.

One Response to “We’re nearly there”

  1. Hi Rob,

    Welcome! 🙂 I have just subscribed to your blog.

    Personally, I would crop the beach away as Nick suggested. I think the clouds in the sky add more interested than the sand does.

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

 
